International Workshop on Advanced Nanostructured Thin films

20/02/2009 00:00
20/06/2009 23:59

International Workshop on Advanced Nanostructured Surfaces
for Industrial Applications

II -Nanoproduction & Applications 2009

6th-7th April 2009

You are invited to participate in an international workshop dedicated to advanced functional surfaces. The workshop will take place at Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge and will feature a series of keynote speakers discussing the synthesis, characterization and application of nanomaterials, nanostructured thin films and nanotechnology.

We aim at the convergence of leading scientists in academia and industry. Discussion will focus on advances in both fundamental knowledge and applied aspects of the processing,
manufacture and employment of nanostructured functional surfaces.
Presentations will encompass:

Particle preparation: from precursors to nanoparticles

Synthesis of colloidal and cluster precursors; controlling particle growth, size and composition

Surface fabrication and analysis

Nanoparticle deposition and encapsulation; the growth, manipulation and characterization of extended structures

From fundamentals to applications

Knowledge transfer in catalysis, nanoelectronics, nanomagnetics, and biomedics

Confirmed contributors:

Professor Diego Cazorla-Amorós, Department of Inorganic Chemistry, Alicante
Dr. Erika Eiser, Department of Physics, Cambridge
The research group of Dr. James Elliott, Department of Materials Science & Metallurgy, Cambridge
The research group of Professor Wilhelm Huck, Melville Laboratory for Polymer Synthesis, Cambridge
Dr. David Jefferson, Department of Chemistry, Cambridge
Professor David Klenerman, Department of Chemistry, Cambridge
Professor Richard Lambert, Department of Chemistry, Cambridge
Professor John Robertson, Department of Engineering, Cambridge
Dr. Alex Routh, Department of Chemical Engineering, Cambridge
Dr. John van der Schaaf, Department of Chemical Engineering
and Chemistry, Technical University of Eindhoven
Dr. Dominic Wright, Department of Chemistry, Cambridge